Skip to content

Well, it’s my little girl’s b’day….now what?

February 10, 2011

We awoke today to a snow-covered ground. The roads are okay and school is on a 2 hour delay. So, I got to hang out with the family for a few minutes before heading into the office. 12 years ago this morning, we all watched as one of the most incredible children ever born joined our family. As I prayed the usual morning blessing over her, it was anything but usual.

You see, Saturday is the Valentine’s dance at her school and I am battling these boys asking my baby to a dance. Fortunately for me, she has chosen to attend a College Basketball game with me. Yes, she is still at that in between stage, but I know the days are numbered. Soon her preference will be the “other” male over her Dad.

I can’t help but reflect on how special she is. I hear it all the time, “enjoy it while you can.” And while I know each of you with children feel EXACTLY the same way, we probably all feel that our children are just a little more special than the rest, right?

Today, I remember the day of her birth, her first steps, her first soccer game and first basket in hoops, her dancing in the basement and her beautiful smile/laugh. Each day and night, we pray and I proclaim the blessing over this child. “Peace, Protection, Joy, Wisdom and that she live a Pure, Holy, Godly life that is pleasing to the Lord. I ask the Lord to give her “Great self-esteem and self-confidence and that she always remember that she is fearfully and wonderfully made.” Psalm 139

She’s only 12 and my younger one is 9. Many of you have done this longer and probably better than I. I would appreciate any input that you may have that has been advantageous in raising your children in a Godly way. Let’s discuss your successful strategies, they can help all of us. Send me your thoughts, while I go grab a tissue!!!

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Karen Winters permalink

    I feel very blessed because both of my adult children love the Lord and serve him everyday. I wish I could take the credit for this but my husband and I both know that it is the grace and mercy of God. There were several godly mentors in their life that helped them choose wisely. We were blessed with a tremendous Youth Pastor, involved grandparents, a Christian school counselor, a nephew that was a good example and good Christian friends. I’m no expert to give advice but I will share with you my nightly prayer while my children were growing up. ” Dear Lord, give me wisdom to know when to say NO and when to say YES.” There were times that my children would want to attend a party or other event and I depended on the leading of the Holy Spirit to help me know whether to give permission or not. If the answer was no, they wanted to know “why”. I couldn’t always give them a specific reason except for the fact that I believed the Lord was helping me be the best parent I could. Thankfully, they accepted that…even if they fussed about it for awhile!

Leave a Reply

